Reflecting on the Names and Nature of God

“O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth. You have set your glory above the heavens…When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him? Yet you have made us a little lower than the heavenly beings…You have given us dominion over the works of your hands; you have put all things under our feet, all sheep and oxen, and also the beasts of the field, the birds of the heavens, and the fish of the sea…O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth.” Thank you for the beauty of the earth, the work of your hands, the strength of your presence, the power of your Spirit, the depth of your love. In the name of Jesus I pray, amen (Prayer based in part on Psalm 8).

Reflecting on the Names and Nature of God:

The Son of the Father-Jesus

“Grace, mercy, and peace will be with you from God the Father and from the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of the Father, in truth and love” (2 John 3 NKJV).

Jesus is The Son, sent by My Father to save a sinful world (John 5:19). The Son is the constant object of the Father’s love (John 5:20). The Father and The Son are One in nature (John 10:30), but they are separate persons. They talk to each other, love each other and work together to save the world.

O Son of God, I magnify You for Your power and love. I know You can do all things; so work in my life today.

The Son wants you to know Him and honor Him, as He honors the Father (John 5:23). Those who do not honor The Son, offend the Father (John 5:23). Just as the Father raised the dead, Jesus gives spiritual life to those who believe in Him (John 5:20). Those who are spiritually dead in sin can have eternal life through “the words of the Son” (John 5:24), and believers who have physically died will be raised to resurrection life in the future through “the words of the Son” (John 5:25, 28). The Father has given The Son the power to give life to all who believe and the Father has given The Son authority to judge sinners at the end of the age (John 5:27).

Jesus, I want Your power in my life today. I want Your “words” to give me strength and optimism to meet the challenges I face. I want Your indwelling presence to encourage me for all I do. Amen.

Go Deeper: 2 John 1-13

The Son of God can give energy to your Christian life.

365 Ways to Know God © 2004 Elmer L. Towns,

Leave a comment